Living today

I’ve gotten a nice reminder from a colleague this morning of how important it is to live here and now, to be present at this very moment. A very timely reminder too, as we’re in the third quarter of the school year, and this is when tiredness that has been accumulating from September starts to manifest itself.

I’m very much guilty of worrying. In my culture, worrying is almost a virtue. People are always concerned about the future and a worried face is a norm. Walking around smiling and being insultingly happy is fairly uncommon.

Life may be hard on us, and sometimes it seems like we can do anything but enjoying the moment. However, this moment is everything we’ve got. I keep forgetting about it. We all do. If I were to die tomorrow, today would be the only time to live. Would I waste it? Never! Would I worry about issues or things on my to-do list? Of course, not!

I must admit though that achieving such freedom of mind isn’t possible on your own. At least, I’m not capable of that. It seems to me that it is only possible if you trust God with everything you have. He is a much better manager than any of us.

So, my next step is to think about some practical things I can do to become less concerned and more joyful.

kien-do-6719-unsplash

Photo by Kien Do on Unsplash

Leave a comment